His Dark Materials episodes: How many weeks is it on the BBC for? How many episodes?


HIS DARK MATERIALS continues this Sunday on BBC One but how many weeks is the fantasy series on for and how many episodes are there?

His Dark Materials is the brand new Sunday night drama on BBC One and the BBC iPlayer. The series was adapted for the screen by Harry Potter and the Cursed Child playwright and This is England writer Jack Thorne. Express.co.uk has everything you need to know about the epic fantasy series.

How many weeks is BBC His Dark Materials on for?

His Dark Materials will air for eight weeks in total on BBC One and the BBC iPlayer.

Episode two will continue this week (Sunday, November 10) at 8pm.

The remaining six episodes will air weekly thereafter from 8pm until 9pm.

Each instalment of His Dark Materials will be available to stream and download on the BBC iPlayer shortly after it has finished airing on TV.

The entire series will air from Sunday, November 3 until Sunday, December 22.

How many episodes are in His Dark Materials?

There are eight episodes in total of His Dark Materials on BBC.

Here is a complete break down of the episode titles, synopses and release dates:

In the first episode, viewers were introduced to the world of Lyra (played by Dafne Keen).

When her best friend Roger (Lewin Lloyd) was abducted, her life changed forever.

In episode two, Lyra moves to London to look for Roger with the help of Mrs Coulter (Rachel Wilson).

The synopsis for episode three reads: “From the clutches of the Gobblers, Lyra finds help from an unlikely place.

“It helps her put together more about her past and keep safe from Mrs Coulter and the Magisterium.”

  • Episode 4: Armour, Sunday, November 24
  • Episode 5: The Lost Boy, Sunday, December 1
  • Episode 6: The Deamon-Cages, Sunday, December 8
  • Episode 7: The Fight to the Death, Sunday, December 15
  • Episode 8: Betrayal, Sunday, December 22

Express.co.uk will update this article when more information is available.

What is His Dark Materials about?

His Dark Materials is a fantasy series based on the novel trilogy of the same name by Philip Pullman.

The three novels include Northern Lights/The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife and The Amber Spyglass.

His Dark Materials is set in an alternative universe where humans have animal companions called daemons.

The daemons are physical manifestations of the human soul.

The series follows Lyra who uncovers the dark truth behind the disappearance of missing children in the town.

Worse, the disappearances involve her father Lord Asriel (James McAvoy) and Marisa Coulter (Ruth Wilson).

The synopsis for the show reads: “This story starts in another world. One that is both like, and unlike, your own.

“Here, every human soul takes the physical form of an animal, known as a daemon. The relationship between human and daemon is sacred.

“This world has been controlled for centuries by the all-powerful Magisterium. Except in the Northern wilderness, where witches secretly whisper of a prophecy.

“A prophecy about a child with a great destiny. During the great flood, this child was brought to Oxford.”


How many weeks is BBC His Dark Materials on for?

How many episodes are in His Dark Materials?

What is His Dark Materials about?


About Author

Leave A Reply