How to change your PlayStation Network username

0

It wasn’t always easy to change your PlayStation Network (PSN) account name. Actually, it wasn’t until April 2019 that Sony allowed account holders to do it at all. Now, each account is allowed to change their username once for free. Any changes after that come at a cost: $4.99 if you’re a PlayStation Plus subscriber, or $9.99 for everyone else.

Whether you’ve outgrown your username or you simply want to change it, we’re going to walk you through the process. However, there are a couple of warnings to run through first.

If you mostly play newer games (specifically, games released after April 1st, 2018), Sony says that you shouldn’t encounter many, if any, issues with the username change since those games were developed to support this feature. But if you still enjoy games from the PS4’s earlier years, that’s another story. Sony has created a list of games with known issues that you might encounter if you change your username.

Right before you change your name, Sony will prompt you with numerous ways that some of your precious game save data might be affected, whether it’s stored locally or in the cloud:

If you’re still up for changing your username, here’s how to do it:

According to Sony, you can revert to an older username for free by contacting the PlayStation support team. They’re available by phone on weekdays between the hours of 6AM and 6PM PT and by online chat on weekdays from 6AM to 10PM PT and on weekends from 7AM to 8PM PT.

As I mentioned earlier, remember that Sony doesn’t guarantee that going back to your old username will fix any problems you might have encountered with the new username.

Vox Media has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence editorial content, though Vox Media may earn commissions for products purchased via affiliate links. For more information, see our ethics policy.

Share.

About Author

Leave A Reply