Instagram will alert users when you screenshot their story

0

Instagram is about to make it harder for users who like to creep on social media. 

The Facebook-owned social media platform is testing a new feature that notifies other users when you screenshot a post from their Instagram Stories. 

It was first revealed last month that the new feature is being tested among a select group of users but could be expanded beyond that soon – and now, new images shared on social media show how it might work.

After you screenshot someone’s story, a tiny camera shutter icon will show up next to your username in the list of people who have viewed it.  

Other users who are part of the test have gotten a notification from Instagram saying that the next time they screenshot a story, the person who posted it will be notified.  

This means the user gets one ‘free’ screenshot before the app will begin notifying the original poster.   

Each person’s username appears on a list of people who have viewed a story. 

The account owner can view this by tapping on their story in the Instagram app. 

And, this is where the camera icon will appear if someone has taken a screenshot of your story. 

Instagram confirmed last month that it was testing the tool.

‘We are always testing ways to improve the experience on Instagram and make it easier to share any moment with the people who matter to you,’ the firm said. 

Users in Japan had reported seeing the screenshot notification warning in January.  

PSA: How you get notified on Instagram when someone took a screenshot of your Stories pic.twitter.com/Iua2QeyskF

Some users took to Twitter to complain about the new feature, saying they wanted Instagram to allow them to ‘screenshot in peace.’ 

However, some savvy users have figured out a way to get around the pesky screenshot feature.  

To creep in private, switch on airplane mode on your smartphone, screenshot the image you want to keep and then turn airplane mode off to continue using the app.

When a device is on airplane mode, it disable any WiFi or Bluetooth signals from being transmitted. 

Another workaround that’ll avoid the feature involves using an internet browser. 

If you’re browsing Instagram on a laptop or desktop, users can screenshot a story from your browser window. 

Both Mac and Windows computers have screenshot functions.  

It’s not the first time Instagram has notified users when someone screenshots their photo. 

Instagram in 2016 rolled out a feature that sends a notification when a screenshot is taken of a private message. 

The new screenshot tool is also the latest example of Instagram taking a page from Snapchat. 

The disappearing message app has always had a feature that notifies users when someone has screenshot their post.  

That’s largely because Snapchat is known for its ephemeral nature, wherein users can privately send and receive messages that disappear after up to 10 seconds. 

However, Snapchat has since rolled out a feature that lets users send looping Snaps, as well as Snapchat Stories, which allows users to post Snaps that last for 24 hours. 

 

Share.

Leave A Reply