India opt to field after rain delay against Sri Lanka


COLOMBO, Sri Lanka – India won the toss and elected to bowl in the Nidahas Trophy tri-nation Twenty20 series match against Sri Lanka in Colombo on Monday.

Toss was delayed by 65 minutes due to rain and play will get underway 8:20 pm local time, 100 minutes later than scheduled.

Only one over has been reduced despite the lengthy delay. The game will be reduced to 19 overs.

Sri Lanka is without captain Dinesh Chandimal, who has been suspended for two games for a slow over rate offence during the last game against Bangladesh on Saturday. They will be led by all-rounder Thisara Perera. The hosts brought in Suranga Lakmal for the game.

India made one change from their last game, droppingg Rishabh Pant for Lokesh Rahul.

India: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Washington Sundar, Vijay Shankar, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Yuzvendra Chahal and Lokesh Rahul.

Sri Lanka: Thisara Perera (Captain) Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera, Upul Tharanga, Dasun Shanka, Jeevan Mendis, Akila Dananjaya, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Pradeep and Suranga Lakmal.

Umpires: Ranmore Martinez and Lindon Hannibal, Sri Lanka

Third Umpire: Ravindra Wimalasiri, Sri Lanka

Match Referee: Chris Broad, England


Leave A Reply